• grovedale@cam.org.au
  • 03 9412 8444

The Sacraments of the Catholic Church


The sacraments of the Catholic Church are practices of faith. As such they are the ritual actions that Catholics celebrate together, in which we actually encounter God. They are moments that lead us into a deeper way of being truly ourselves, as we appreciate God’s presence within us, and within the daily actions of our lives.

The seven sacraments can be separated into three groups:

SACRAMENTS OF INITIATION which bring a person into the full life of Christ

SACRAMENTS OF HEALING which heal both the soul and the body

SACRAMENTS OF COMMITMENT in which a person responds to a specific call of of God